Press Releases
Brinks' Gary Ropski Named #1 Leading IP Lawyer in Illinois; 59 Brinks Attorneys Named Leading Lawyers for 2014-2015
October 23, 2014

CHICAGO—Gary M. Ropski, a shareholder at intellectual property law firm Brinks Gilson & Lione and the firm's past president, has been named the #1 Leading Intellectual Property Lawyer in Illinois by Leading Lawyers, and fifty-nine Brinks attorneys have been named to the list of Leading Lawyers for 2014-2015.

Ropski, who served as president of Brinks from 2006 to 2011, has close to 40 years of experience in intellectual property law, including litigating more than 100 cases. He has litigated in every federal judicial circuit in the U.S. and in nearly all of the top ten districts for patent litigation, and is admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court, the Supreme Court of Illinois, and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Ropski currently focuses his practice on leading teams in high-stakes patent litigation, acting as a court-appointed special master in intellectual property cases, and handling arbitration and mediation where his extensive experience allows him to bring special insights to efforts to resolve disputes.

Ropski was previously named by Leading Lawyers as one of the Top Ten Business Litigators in Illinois, one of the Top Ten Business Lawyers in Illinois, and one of the Top 100 Lawyers in Illinois across all practice areas.

Fifty-three Brinks attorneys in the firm's Chicago office have been named by their peers as Leading Lawyers in Intellectual Property in Illinois for 2014-2015:

Joel W. Benson
Jack C. Berenzweig
Henry L. Brinks
Jeffrey J. Catalano
Eric D. Cohen
James A. Collins
Trevor K. Copeland
Rodney A. Daniel
Heidi A. Dare
Nicholas G. de la Torre  
Timothy Q. Delaney
J. William Dockrey
Christopher M. Dolan
Kelly J. Eberspecher
David S. Fleming
William H. Frankel
John C. Freeman
Ralph J. Gabric
Kent E. Genin
Jerome Gilson
Raymond W. Green
Jeffery A. Handelman
Joseph F. Hetz
Tadashi Horie
Harold V. Johnson
Philip A. Jones
Bradley G. Lane
Richard G. Lione 
John K. Lucas
Robert S. Mallin
Charles M. McMahon
Howard S. Michael
Laura Beth Miller
Michael E. Milz
A. John Murray
James P. Naughton
John F. Nethery
G. Peter Nichols
Jeffry M. Nichols
Douglas A. Oguss
Amir N. Penn
Danielle Anne Phillip
Janet A. Pioli
John G. Rauch
Marc V. Richards
Gary M. Ropski 
Gustavo Siller, Jr.
Scott J. Slavick
James R. Sobieraj
Mary M. Squyres
Andrew D. Stover
Mircea A. Tipescu
Dominic P. Zanfardino

Leading Lawyers debuted coverage in the state of Michigan this year, and six Brinks attorneys have been named Leading Lawyers in Intellectual Property in Michigan for 2014-2015:

Lawrence G. Almeda
William R. Boudreaux
Kelly K. Burris
James K. Cleland
Steven L. Oberholtzer
Eric J. Sosenko

Three Brinks attorneys—Timothy Delaney, Tadashi Horie, and Robert Mallin—were named to Leading Lawyers for the first time.
Brinks is one of the largest intellectual property law firms in the United States. The firm's lawyers provide expertise in all aspects of patent, trademark, unfair competition, trade secret, and copyright law. The firm's lawyers have advanced degrees across all fields of technology and science, and serve commercial clients, innovators, and research universities in every technical field, including in biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, chemicals, energy, agriculture, electrical and computer technologies, the mechanical arts, medical devices, green technology, and nanotechnology.

Leading Lawyers, a division of the Law Bulletin Publishing Company, surveys thousands of attorneys statewide to identify lawyers most often recommended by their peers. Lawyers cannot nominate themselves or anyone at their own law firm. Fewer than five percent of all lawyers licensed to practice law in a given state can be named a Leading Lawyer. More information is at